Competitive Streak

I never thought of myself as a competitive person. Not once did I think that I would ever understand why my family would shout at the TV when a particular rugby match was on or why they would often have long debates over who’s team was better.

I was never sporty- and I never will be sporty. I don’t have that get-up-and-go attitude that athletes seem to have. I never regretted this, I was happy skipping sport in school and hanging around in various classrooms until it was safe for me to come out without someone throwing a ball at me. I was proud that I never gave into this particular trait- being competitive. I didn’t need it, and I was glad tat I could get by without it.

However, WordPress has brought out my competitive side. And I mean REALLY brought out my competitive side. At first I was happy with just writing and getting no love in return. This blog was doing its job. I made it to keep me writing and to keep my inspiration alive, which it has done brilliantly!

Then I got my first like.

I was surprised to say the least. I didn’t think I was able to use WordPress properly, so finding out the my blog was actually accessible to others made me extremely happy. I wanted more.

I continued writing about the journey I was taking with the first draft of my novel and this seemed to appeal to people.

People started following me.

Shit, now people might actually have been reading what I was saying. I’m not going to sugar coat it- my blog is not really that interesting. It literally only has updates about my writing and occasional rants like this one. What the hell was I going to write about now?! I don’t know what people liked or why they started following me in the first place!

Then my boyfriend joined WordPress, and as I had expected is doing a million times better than me. Even with a month ahead of him he has managed to catch up and me and leave me far behind in the dust!

I was surprised to find how much this… irked me. Don’t get me wrong, I love him, but I forget that other people can see how good he is and forgot just how much better he would be doing than me!

Then he named what was going on- I was starting to get competitive. This has been coming out more and more as the weeks have passed. When we played Yu-Gi-Oh the other day, and I had to win. And I mean had to win. He claims I cheated, I will never admit to cheating! But there was some foul play and I did end up winning.

I don’t like feeling competitive, and so I have decided to try not to care about how many followers or views I get in a day.

Yeah, I know that isn’t going to last, but we’ll see!

Alternatively you can leave your tips on how to get more followers! Would be greatly appreciated from a newly competitive young woman who has tasted winning and really liked it!

Maybe I’ll surprise myself and start meditating to treat my new problem and end up a cool indie- hippy person who sees the world as a happy place and sees no need for anyone to compete against one another, thus making my blog an instant success and the whole thing will start all over!

2 thoughts on “Competitive Streak

  1. Pingback: lottieeaton

Leave a Reply

