Writing and All Things General

I am a serious diary person. I have kept a diary since I was able to write, sure, the ones from when I was 6 don’t really make much sense, but it’s still fun to look over them and see what I was like when I was younger.

All the way up through my teens I have kept a diary close at hand, letting it be my best friend and telling it everything. I’m on my 7th serious diary at the moment (serious meaning that I don’t just moan, it holds more than just daily happenings inside) and after my operation I stopped writing in it. I think I just lost interest because I had more things to focus on, but today I finally picked it back up and started writing in it.

I am thrilled to have it back in my bag as a constant companion (yes, I am that sad that books are my companions) and to have the knowledge that if I get any random ideas for stories or poems I can just jot them down and look at them seriously later. In doing this I found loads of poems I had completely forgotten about. They aren’t good as I am in no way, shape or form a poet.

However, I did find one which I did really like about a wife in an unhappy marriage looking at a young couple who are much happier than she has ever been in her marriage. I really do like it, but don’t think anyone else will, so I am most definitely NOT prepared to share it with people.

You never know though, maybe someday I’ll be good at writing poetry and I will be able to share them with everyone!

Not likely.

I have also finally decided on what I am going to do about writing and how I am going to tackle it for the next few weeks, starting on Monday. I am going to finish the first draft of this novel and then focus on editing the first one. My boyfriend is going to read my first book and give me some hinters on what to change or what’s good so that will put me in a good direction for the start of editing!

As I have never edited anything before it will be interesting to see how it goes, but hopefully it’ll all be good! Hopefully I’ll meet people along the way who will be able to give me tips and such on what to do and how to tackle an entire novel.

One thing is for certain- my way will involve a lot of colour co-ordination. I love me some colours!

17 thoughts on “Writing and All Things General

  1. I used to keep diaries when I was younger too and I just recently looked at one from when I was 11 and 12 I believe and it was pretty interesting. I have just recently started my first “serious” diary I think. I stopped writing in a diary for quite a while actually when I entered grade 8 I think I stopped and I just started again near the end of my second year of University! Quite a while to go without it but I think it was a needed break. I’m glad to have it back though. I never thought to carry it around in my bag with me though! Good idea!

    1. It’s just useful to have there in case you don’t have anything else to write in, especially for something you could forget on the spot like a poem! I do quite love my diaries! They are very entertaining to read over every now and again 😛

      1. Absolutely! After reading this post of yours I think I’ll start carrying my diary in my bag with me. 🙂

  2. I’ve never kept a diary, but always wanted to be someone that did. The only time I came close was just before/after my daughter was born I kept some thoughts in a moleskine.

    I’m jealous of those that do keep a diary.

    1. Oh that is such a lovely thing to have. It must be nice to look back on it every now and then. I think I’ll do something like that when I’m pregnant too, I’ve always wanted to!

  3. A fellow diarist! If there was one habit I could recommend to anyone – whatever their occupation in life – it would be to keep a diary. As well as catching all those ideas that might have slipped away otherwise, I find that my journal is almost like a therapist sometimes and I do think I’m a happier person because of it.

    Also, congratulations on being so close to the end of the first draft of your novel! I’m so envious!

    1. I completely agree! I use my diary a lot, but I find that when things aren’t going the way I want them too writing them down really helps. I am definitely happier when I have my diary in my bag, at the ready if I need it at all!
      And thank you for that, hopefully I’ll have this one finished soon and then can go back to edit the first one. It would be amazing to have a second draft!

    1. I would love to be able to do that! I’ve always wanted to stick various things from certain days and events in my diaries, but never remember when things are happening. I might start trying to remember things now though. Where do you keep them?
      It’s never too late to start a diary! Though I know what it’s like using your Blog as a diary, I do that with my one too 😛

      1. I have a puma trainer box which I keep alot of tickets etc in, and a few random pieces stuck on my notice board. My blog has moprhed into many things; diary, companion, venting point, creative outlet, social media and more. If you look at my tagline it refers to Netty. That’s what I call the internet, and yes she is female.

Leave a Reply

