Home and Damn Excited

While on holiday I got to have a proper chat with Mr. Cooke about where I am in the writing mind set at the moment. The answer is very unclear as I have no idea what novel I want to write. There are a few things going around in my head, making it very difficult to narrow down my decision.

Therefore I am starting with a short story that has been on my mind for quite a few weeks now. And it being a short story it should take no more than a week or two to get it exactly right. And with this one the writing has to be sneaky, descriptive and will be really fun and interesting to phrase. Short stories depend on the phrasing and how you depict the characters, and then how they actually are. Right?

I’m pretty sure that’s a good way to start with the writing of my short story, but we’ll have to see as I haven’t written a short story in a few years- not since my Leaving Certificate exams. And that was two years ago at least now.

I think once I have something finished, something¬†I have written in front of me, it will give me incentive to start back at my writing and will help with the writer’s block I seem to have. I know they say ‘just write when you have writer’s block’, but what do you do when you have so many things you want to write that you can’t start any of them?

Well, this is my home-made antidote to writer’s block: short stories. Having something small, definite and finished will be a huge achievement when writing has become so difficult. I’ll let you all know how it goes tomorrow, I’m hoping for my past usual of 2,000 words a day at least from now onwards. We will see how that goes….

But lets have faith for now and hope that I stick to this… No… I KNOW I can stick to this daily goal. As I mentioned before I need to have a good portfolio for the Masters in Creative Writing I plan on getting. The portfolio building begins today, sure this may only be a small foundation, but at least it’s a start!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

